So I got my Dillon 550 today

I woke up early and decided that today would be a great day for a field trip to Northshore Firearms. I promptly called in sick [smile], jumped in the shower and left the house around 9:00. Middleton is a haul for me (almost 1.5 hours) but I had already been there once and knew that they had the stuff and expertise I would need seeing that I am completely new to reloading. I got there around 10:30 and was one of only two customers. Dick, the gentleman I talked with last weekend was there and he and another person answered all my questions and helped me get the setup I was looking for.

I will admit that I went a bit overboard. Instead of just getting set up to reload .45 I also got all the parts to reload .40. I primarily shoot those two calibers so why wait. [grin] I also bought a quick change kit so that I wouldn't have to reconfigure everything when changing calibers. While there, Dick also hooked me up with bullets, primers and powder.

I got home and my wife saw all the boxes and her jaw hit the floor. Naturally, her next question was "How much?". My answer was "$50". [smile] She knows better than to ask me that.

Anyway, now I have to do some serious rearranging in the basement to make room for my newest hobby.

I would like to thank everyone who helped me with my pre-purchase questions.

Last edited:
you should have taken up crack......it would have been cheaper.[wink]

Seriously, you will love the Dillon. you can crank out a bunch of ammo in a hurry. I love mine, i use it for 9mm, 45 auto and 223 for my ar's.

Congrats! You'll love this little honey. I reload 9mm, .44 mag, .45 acp, and .223. Soon to add .38/.357 and .308. When you get on a roll you can push out about 100 rounds in 20 min's.

Wait a minute, they had primers??? I hope you bought a lot.

Good luck with the press, you can't go wrong with a Dillon.

-Cuz.

Congrats on the new press.
ry%3D400

Rusty[grin]