Revolver recomendations

mbz4ever

Dealer
NES Member
I'm new to revolvers world. Strange, but its a fact i dont have any revolvers in my collection.
and need some advice.
last friday i had a chance to shoot S&W 686 .357 and S&W 629.
O man-O man, those are so much fun to shoot - im in love.[smile]
I S&W makes best revolvers but too many models...
I was thinking to get on of each .357, .44 magnum and 500 magnum.
are there some models that not legal in MA or I can get any S&W revolver here in MA?
I'm interested in S&W 327 M&P .357 magnum performance center - is performance center revolvers are worth the $$$ vs regular models?
also looking @ Model 29 Classic .44 Magnum - always liked that gun.
and finally S&W 500 Extreme Backpacker limited.

Bought my first wheel gun not long ago. Model 13 in .357. The thing that impressed me the most was the accuracy. I wonder why it took me so long to get one.

I like my Ruger SP-101 .357 2-1/4" spurless.. I added the Crimson Trace Lasergrips. Wonderful combination.

If you're starting out, go for the classic, tried and true models.

Those two that you already fired are most definitely highly recommended as your first revolver. A 4" 686 and a 4" 629 make a superb battery that would serve any handgunner very well.

In fact, if those two were the only handguns you ever got, consider yourself extremely well armed for competition, hunting, and self defense. And yes, you can easily conceal a 4" 686. A 629 takes a little more thought, but it is very doable.

Add a longer barrel Model 500 and enjoy.

Smith is my prefered brand, Ruger are also very nice. If your not going to carry the gun I would recomend the 6" barrel. I'm almost sure the that you can get the same accuracy with an off the shelf 686 with a $80 trigger job than you can get with the Performance Center guns. Just my 2-cents.

I love N frames but I have to vote for 4" 686 here. I have had lots of wheel gun come and go and the 4" 686 is the one I should have bought first.