Reloading & Glocks

Have people had success shooting reloads in their Glocks?
I have a g22 in .40 and a g36 in .45 and in several places in the manuals for both it says DO NOT shoot reloads in them, yet I think I've heard of people doing it? Anyone know why they put that in there?

I am fairly new to reloading but will probably be loading either FMJ or CMJ Montana Gold rounds in both calibers.

I have a g22 in .40 and a g36 in .45 and in several places in the manuals for both it says DO NOT shoot reloads in them, yet I think I've heard of people doing it? Anyone know why they put that in there?

I am fairly new to reloading but will probably be loading either FMJ or CMJ Montana Gold rounds in both calibers.

the warning against using reloaded ammo is pretty common in any semi by any manufacturer. I was reading the manual for a Beretta 8000f over the weekend and it said the same thing.

The big concern in all Glocks is lead fouling of the factory barrels because of the type of rifling they use, and in .40 S&W Glocks the amount of unsupported casing could cause a less than perfect reloaded case to fail causing the dreaded Glock KB.

Be prepared for many differing opinions on the subject.

As for the reloading just don't use lead in a factory barrel, go to a Lone Wolf or other aftermarket supplier, or use FMJ/CMJ , watch the casings for bulging, and don't make them too hot.

I use KKM barrels in all my non-9mm Glocks.

The "bulging cases" can be a problem when you reload. Because of the reduced chamber support, stock Glock barrels cause the bottom of the cases to bulge upon firing. In .40 and 10mm the bulge can be big enough to be visible to the unaided eye.

Many sizing dies do not completely remove the bulge. If you reload a case without removing the bulge, and that reloaded round ends up in the barrel with the bulge back in the unsupported part of the chamber, you risk a case rupture. The risk is highest in a high pressure cartridge like the .40 S&W.