• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

reloading equipment suggestions

Hi everyone,
I am in the market for some reloading equipment for reloading .223. I currently reload .45ACP and have a Dillon 550B with a digital scale and all the trimmings. I am new to rifle though and would like some advise on case trimmers, dies, and other misc. tools you need for rifle, but not so much for pistol. I am looking for quality stuff that will last a lifetime and provide very consistant results. I won't say money is no object, but I don't mind paying for a great product if it will give me the desired results. Would it be wise to invest in a single stage press for rifle? Any suggestions you may have would be greatly appreciated.

The Dillon should work fine. What type rifle are you shooting and what type of shooting will you be doing?

B

I use a Dillon 550 for pistol, and a few rifle calibers, when I plan to crank out more than a couple hundred. I use an old Herters "O" press for most rifle calibers, in conjunction with a Pact computer dispenser system for stick powders, and an RCBS rotary measure for ball, or fine grain powders.
I have both the Lyman & RCBS electric case trimmers, and use the Lyman the most. I trim bottle neck rifle brass, & uniform the primer pockets after every use, but don't bother with pistol, or straight wall cases. They don't move much, if any.
I have done hundreds of thousands of rounds over the years with virtually no problems. Just keep them cleaned & lubed.

I will be shooting a Bushmaster v match 20" fluted barrel .233 with a 1 in 9 twist. Right now I just plink, but I would love to get into benchrest.