Question on Chapter 269 Secion 10

OK, I have a question.

I know from Chapter 269 Section 10, that there are a list of items that are not "legal" in MA.

But the first line reads as follows:

Whoever, except as provided by law, carries on his person, or carries on his person or under his control in a vehicle...

Then goes on to list a crap load of BS on things that you can't have in the above Chapter and Section.

What I'm wondering is this.. Per the list from above...you can own it. You just can't have it with you outside your house. Would that be correct?

Can you tell I hate these laws as I'm not a lawyer and they are a bitch to read.

Anyway, let's say that you moved into MA with a sling shot or some other item on that list... You can keep it, you just can't carry it on your person, or have it in your car... Correct? SO if you're plinking in your back yard with a sling shot and a cop drives by, you're screwed. But if it's in a box or on a slelf in the basement, it's OK. So, you can have it, you just can't play with it...

And, if I'm reading this right, you can have it in your house, and you can only get busted with it if it's found while they "...when arrested upon a warrant for an alleged crime, or when arrested while committing a breach or disturbance of the public peace, is armed with or has on his person, or has on his person or under his control in a vehicle..."

So if they are coming into your home as a result as an arrest, you're in trouble. But if they are there because a kitty was stuck in a tree and they see it through your basement window, it's cool.

...carries on his person, or carries on his person or under his control in a vehicle...

Which language seems to refer to CARRYING off-property; not sitting on a shelf in your home.

As opposed to, say, having a sawed-off shotgun or a gun with an obliterated serial number........

Which language seems to refer to CARRYING off-property; not sitting on a shelf in your home.