• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Question about MA Gun restrictions for LEO

While looking at this page on the mass gov website, (Frequently Asked Questions about the Assault Weapons Ban Enforcement Notice)

I read this FAQ (all underlined)

I am a law enforcement officer. Does the notice affect me?

No. The notice does not change the law with respect to ownership of Assault Weapons by law enforcement officers. Your existing right to buy and possess Assault Weapons remains protected under Massachusetts law.

Can law enforcement purchase high capacity/rifle weapons for off duty purposes? or is this underlined FAQ and answer in reference to LEO while in the course of their official duties.

IMHO IIRC to do so they need a letter on letterhead from their Department saying it is for official use.

Lots of cops have post AWB94 hi caps for their Glocks, even personally owned ones, but when they retire they lose the right to have post AWB 1994 high capacity magazines, in theory.

AFAIK, LEOs and retired LEOs are exempt from MA law w.r.t. which weapons they can purchase and own (except of course NFA items) including those stipulated in the "Enforcement Notice". Note: "does not change the law" (which is amusing because the turn of phrase seems to indicate an awareness that the 'notice' may an attempt at a 'change of law').

AFAIK, LEOs and retired LEOs are exempt from MA law w.r.t. which weapons they can purchase and own (except of course NFA items) including those stipulated in the "Enforcement Notice". Note: "does not change the law" (which is amusing because the turn of phrase seems to indicate an awareness that the 'notice' may an attempt at a 'change of law').
Not true. Once retired, they lose those privileges per MGL even if they purchased the items with their own money.