Question about gun control, be gentle...

Ok, so I'm new to guns. I didn't grow up with them and I don't know a lot of people who are into shooting. I've always been gun friendly - who knows where I picked that up - but, like a lot of people, I just didn't know much about gun laws. Then I applied for an LTC in Boston (approved with restrictions), and boy were my eyes opened. Bottom line: I had assumed gun laws made more sense than they do. I know, I know...I'm young and naive. Let's try to get past that.

My sense is that a lot of gun laws are written to appeal to non-gun owners, so they don't have to make sense. But here's my question: what gun laws would make sense? In other words, what gun laws (existing, proposed, or theoretical) would you be willing to either (a) support, or (b) live with if it meant an end to putting up with the constant gun-control pressure. I know that getting the issue off the political landscape is unrealistic, but let's approach this as a thought experiment. If you could figure out the compromise, what would it be?

None. the only gun law that makes sense was written a couple hundred years ago. It's called the second amendment.

I have no appetite for any restriction on my natural rights.

in before a bunch of jerks dogpile you calling you a troll.

Ok. Fair enough. Let me ask you this: if you are convicted of a violent crime and are out on probation, should you be able to legally purchase and carry a handgun? I just want to make sure we both understand the same thing when you say "any restriction."

Ok. Fair enough. Let me ask you this: if you are convicted of a violent crime and are out on probation, should you be able to legally purchase and carry a handgun? I just want to make sure we both understand the same thing when you say "any restriction."

out on parole you mean? All rights restored.