Question about growing a SMALL garden

Ok, I have never tried to grow my own food before and was thinking I might give it a try, here's the thing. I live in a second floor apartment on the shady side of the building. Am I S.O.L.? is there any type of veg, potato, herb that needs very little sunlight that I can grow in a small space (like a window box or small pot)? I was looking at the burpee seed rack in the Home Depot and the only thing that didn't need full sunlight was spearmint. I'd like to do this on the cheap, I cant afford an ellaborate hydroponic contraption.

you can do some guerrilla gardening (look it up). Perfect if you have no usable space of your own.

I did this when I was in the same predicament as the OP. I planted a small garden right in back of my parking spot. Surrounded by plants that hide a 4'x2' tomato garden. I'd open my trunk when I did anywork to it and it hid me from the rest of the apartment building. God I am glad I moved.....

Question for all of you w/GREEN thumbs
I want to stay on thread topic,different question:
Is it safe to use P.T.(pressure treated/ground contact) timbers when constructing a raised garden (consumables) planter box? Are there health conserns with eating produce grown in these structures?
Please advise.

You should not use PT. I had some raised bed I made with regular 2x8s and they lasted 5 seasons before starting to rot.

Question for all of you w/GREEN thumbs
I want to stay on thread topic,different question:
Is it safe to use P.T.(pressure treated/ground contact) timbers when constructing a raised garden (consumables) planter box?

NO! No PT. Use red cedar. It will last for years, but is not full of chemicals.

if you're interested in growing your own veggies and such, theres something called an aero garden that's available. it's a hydroponic system that had built in lighting. grows stuff quite quickly and is great if you like to cook.

ETA: heres the link: http://www.aerogrow.com/

Last edited: