Primer Failures

Hi. New to the forum and new to reloading.

I purchased a Dillon RL 550B and associated equipment, currently set up to reload 0.40 S&W. I very much like this machine and reloading with it.

My friends and I shoot target/plinking out of a variety of 0.40 S&W handguns, I have loaded about 500+ rounds of .40 S&W with good results.

However, I have had a total of 8 primer failures. First batch of reloads was with Winchester Small Pistol primers, 2 of which failed. Switced to CCI Small pistol primers. Shot 200-300 with no problems. Latest batch had 6 failures out of 100. All six failures fired in a different gun although a few of them required 2-3 strikes in the 2nd gun to fire.

Is there something I could be doing while reloading to cause these failures?
Anything I can do to prevent this from happening?

Thanks, Chris

Welcome. I am relatively new to reloading as well. I have had similar results but is had more to do with mixed brass in my case. Some of the primers seated deeper than others and required multiple strikes. It may also have been related to my handling primers with my bare hands when primer feed hangs up on last primer. I still have a few that FTF from pumpkin shoot a while back that I haven't looked at.

You have definately come to the right place when it comes to getting answers. I have learned a lot and will be schooled again with followup posts. It is a whole new world when it comes to reloading safely and adds a great deal of enjoyment to my life in that reguard. Good luck.

John

Thanks for the reply.

I know being seated too deep is likely (assuming) not the problem, as I have run into more of a problem with primers not seating enough. But that was mainly user error, being that the Dillon requires a push of the lever in the opposite direction, if it is not forceful enough it will not seat the primer completely. But that is usually noticed right away as the shellplate assembly does not like to rotate if the primer is sticking out.