• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Pin/Weld Lantac muzzle device

Hi all.

Doing my first AR build. Called a shop close to me and they said they wont do a pin/weld on one specific muzzle device.. surprise surprise its the one I already purchased. Not sure why, but whatever.

By trade, I am a machinist/welder and have access to solid machinery/tooling. So my questions are 1. is this too difficult/risky to do myself? and 2. does anyone who has successfully done it feel like reaching out to me for a few clarifying questions?

Thanks

I have never done it. but I stayed at a Holiday Inn one time.

I believe what they do is:
File a flat spot on the bottom of the thread where they want the pin to rest.
Drill a hole through the bottom of the muzzle device where it lines up with the flat spot.
Tap the hole to fit a set screw. Screw down the set screw and lock in the place the muzzle.
Then put a welding bead over the set screw so it's permanent.

Is yours a real flash hider and that's why they wont install it?

FWIK (helped one person do this a few years back)... Attached muzzle device, drill a hole to put some kind of metal rod into, that will rest between the threads of the barrel. Put a tack weld at the top of the rod, to hold it to the MD.
IMO, I wouldn't go overboard on this no matter what. I've heard of people using steel [clothes] hanger wire to do this. Pretty sure you don't need to drill and tap the MD and such for this either. If you want to go to the insane level, feel free. But, IMO, if they're looking to see how strong the 'pinning' on your MD is, you're already in deep sheit. It will just be an 'add-on' charge.

jayhitek: Nah its a lantac dragon. Was listed as a muzzle device not a flash hider. They just said something about there not being enough of a flat? Sorta made me think they were going to do it with a hand drill and not even a bridgeport/press.