PA63 and CZ52

Garys

NES Member
Two different guns, two different rounds, I know. I have a couple of questions about both, so I thought I'd combine them.

How rare is the 9x18 Makarov ammuntion in the US?
How rare is the 7.62x25 ammo in the US?
I know that the CZ52 is a C&R pistol, so it's legal for me to buy and bring into MA. OTOH, the PA63 is NOT C&R but was made before 1998. Can a MA dealer sell it?

Okay, enough dumb questions for today.

Gary

I'll try to help

I'm a relative newbie to both, but that means we are both on the learning curve.

I bought a Makarov a while back and I have found 9 X 18 ammo not only available, but CHEAP at various gun stores in MA. As low as $8 for a box of 50.

The Maks are C & R and so are the CZ52's and I just bought one of those. The PA63 is not MA compliant as you state and the only way you can get one is if it was actually owned in MA prior to 1998. In other words, you can't buy one from out of state and ship it here. Maks are better anyway.

I also haven't had any trouble finding 7.62 X 25 ammo although it is a bit more pricey that the Mak stuff.

Hope that helps.

Last edited:
Getting a Makarov here in Mass is pretty tough. You can't have one sent from SOG to a dealer in Mass because it has to be a gun already in Mass. Its kinda confusing but the biggest thing you need to know is that only certain (and a small number) Maks are C&R. I believe those are the old Russian ones. A few online dealers get them every once in a great while but don't hold yer breath waiting for one to pop up.