Others knowing you safe combo

Reptile

NES Member
Is it illegal to share you safe combo with others who do not have a license.

I'd say yes.

I'm just wondering because my friend might want to get a gun but I think his overbearing wife will only allow him to if she can get into the safe too.

Pussywhipped? Yes, but it is a good question.

I'm no expert, but when I took by basic safety class, the instructor (NE Trading) was very clear that only the people with a license have access to the keys. He was referring specifically to husband / wife scenarios.

Looks like a great excuse to get her an LTC too.

Only issue is if she might pop him with his own gun!

I'm no expert, but when I took by basic safety class, the instructor (NE Trading) was very clear that only the people with a license have access to the keys. He was referring specifically to husband / wife scenarios.

Do not give access to your gun safe to unlicensed/unauthorized persons. It can get you into issues when your gun is used for something you don't want it to be (pointed at you, stolen, used in a crime, sold by pissed spouse...etc).

To answer your question I would say No.

From the MGLs:

Chapter 140: Section 131L. Weapons stored or kept by owner; inoperable by any person other than owner or lawfully authorized user; punishment

Section 131L. (a) It shall be unlawful to store or keep any firearm, rifle or shotgun including, but not limited to, large capacity weapons, or machine gun in any place unless such weapon is secured in a locked container or equipped with a tamper-resistant mechanical lock or other safety device, properly engaged so as to render such weapon inoperable by any person other than the owner or other lawfully authorized user. For purposes of this section, such weapon shall not be deemed stored or kept if carried by or under the control of the owner or other lawfully authorized user.