Old shooter needs help with new rifle

Greetings all. I'm new to the forum, sort of. I've been lurking.

Here's my deal. I need help. I've been a handgun shooter for nearly 20 years BUT I have very little rifle experience. Recently, I purchased my very first AR15 (A Bushmaster XM15). It's an unfamiliar animal. And while I'm putting rounds on the paper at 50 yards, I'm simply not getting the results I want. My groups are inconsistent and my rounds are all hitting to the right of center. It's a mess. I've tried adjusting the sights for windage. I've put my nose to the charging handle, I've backed it away from the charging handle. I've sprawled out on the ground. I've twisted myself into a small fetal position. Nothing I do seems to work. It seems that I am having trouble assessing where I am going wrong. Could anyone recommend a good rifle coach, or even an accomplished Marine in the Woodstock/Randolph, VT area? I'd really appreciate a little help with my technique. Thanks so much.

Welcome to the world of rifle marksmanship. I had the same thing happen in reverse (going from rifles to handguns). Then one day I bought a Smith & Wesson K frame and I found handgun bliss.

I wish I were closer. Teaching motivated people to shoot is a blast.

Thanks, Jose. I agree. I've taught NRA basic pistol and some non-NRA defensive workshops. Teaching is very rewarding. Now I must revert to being student.

Sounds like your pulling the trigger rather than squeezing it. Dry fire about 15 times and watch your barrel. Finger on trigger placement as well. Just a few of the more obvious things.

1. Consistent stock weld.
2. Consistent breath control.
3. Consistent trigger squeeze.
4. Concentrate on the front site post.

God, the PMI's practically beat that into us.