Non-Resident and Visiting with SBS

Hello,

I am a former MA resident but have lived in VA for many years now, so all of my MA permits are long expired. My understanding is that, as a non-resident, I can transport (cased and unloaded) Non-Large Capacity Rifles and Shotguns and possess them while visiting MA as long I am allowed to do so in my home state (and I am).

If I have a properly Form 4'ed factory Remington 870 SBS, 4 round magazine, is there any reason why I can't transport and possess this while visiting MA so long as I have the ATF travel form approved?

I'm thinking this question may be answered by the definitions in MA firearms laws, which provide that a "shotgun" has a barrel of 18+ inches and an overall length of 26+ inches, while the definition of "firearm" would encompass a SBS - and so I would appear to need a Non-Resident LTC.

If I'm offbase here, any help is greatly appreciated.

My understanding is that, as a non-resident, I can transport (cased and unloaded) Non-Large Capacity Rifles and Shotguns and possess them while visiting MA as long I am allowed to do so in my home state (and I am).
I am almost 100% positive that your understanding is incorrect.

Outside of some very narrow exceptions for hunts and organized shooting contests, you cannot do what you think you can unless you have the applicable MA FID or LTC.

Your MA permits expired the moment you moved out of Mass. They never had a chance to expire due to time.

As a non-resident you can transport as you suggest BUT ONLY IF you are coming to an organized shooting event and have an invite from that event (brothers backyard does not count) or you can come hunting here with your guns as long as you have a non-resident hunting license in your possession, or the other exception is driving through the state to a state like NH where you can possess your guns without a permit. No stopping at a cousins house though on the trip. Must travel through the state.