Newbie turkey hunting question

JackO

Instructor
Folks, I am a COMPLETE newbie, newer hunted in my life. Just finished my hunter safety class and booked a turkey hunting trip with one of the reputable hunting guides in ME.

The question is, what clothing do I need for a spring turkey hunt (beginning of May) in ME? I was told it has to be all camo. Pants, jacket, coveralls? Loose fitting or not? Allow for some warm clothing under the camo? Water resistant? Good materials, good brands, where to buy? And so on, and so on. Again, I know absolutely nothing about this, a typical city boy with no outdoor experience. So please don't be to judgmental, just help if you can.

Which guide did you book your hunt with?

You will need full camo since they say Turkeys have great eyesight. Full real tree camo will do plus a camo hat and some camo netting over your face. Wear boots if possible since it can get a little wet in the morning sometimes.

Good luck!

I would look in to an inexpensive turkey vest with attached seat, which has easily accesible pockets for all your supplies(calls, ammo, snacks, water). If you're heading up to Maine i would look at www.cabelas.com. They have a store in Scarborough Maine which has everything you need at great prices, you can probably find full camo there with vest and boots for $300. Also pick up some bug and tick repellent.

Not to promote another site but turkeyandturkeyhunting.com has some great articles on turkey hunting.

Good luck.

You will most likely be hunting at dawn. This time of year, dawn in Maine will often find temps between 20 and 30. Dress warm under the camo. Good insulated boots are a must. It is very hard to sit still while you are shivering.

Full camo and dont forget your hands and face. As important as camo is lack of movement. Movement will spook a bird quicker than hunting in a glitter disco suit. Sit still and dont call too much