• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Need advice on casting

gws1063

NES Member
I'm planning to embark on handloading for some old obscure rounds and I'm ready to try my hand at casting bullets. I have the first molds I need and I could use some advice. Downstream from now, I gather that I'll probably be looking at something like an RCBS Pro Melt furnace, but where do I start?

The bullets are in the 400-500 grain range, and I've heard third-hand that pouring from a ladle is not the best thing to do for such large bullets.

Anyone care to offer any practical advice or pointers to resources before I just buy a small pot and have a go at it?

Also, if anyone has any old equipment they might consider selling, I'm in the market for more than just advice. [grin]

-Gary

Oddly enough I have a Lyman 20 lb pot I'm not using if you're interested. I've been casting for at least 20 years and have used several companies equipment and IMHO I like RCBS,Redding and LBT also have a couple of molds by Rapine that are very nice as well.

I'm going to start at some point too - also 400-500 grain bullets (but for a handgun).

I'll be picking your brain in the future as it looks like you're getting a head start on me.

If you have mold blocks pm me and perhaps on a Sat afternoon you can come over and I can show you the basics. What calibers do you want to cast and are you casting for black powder or smokeless? Black powder needs an alloy of 1 part tin 20 parts lead where smokeless can use wheel weights to linotype. First step I would suggest is to get the Lyman Cast Bullet Manual I think it's still in print Read it once or twice and then the fun starts.

bullet casting