My ugly duckling FRANKENFAL

45collector

NES Member
This is my first build. I used a parts kit my father had given me. I thought it was an STG 58 but yesterday at the military rifle shoot, someone told me it's an Imbel. Either way, it's metric and I built it myself, fired it and didn't blow myself to smitherines! I just need to get the front sight adjustment tool and bring it up a bit.

From this:
round2035.jpg

To this:
FAL001.jpg

FAL002.jpg

I like that none of the metal finishes match. It says "yeah I look like crap, but I was built with nice, quality parts, I'm accurate, and my owner is proud of me." LOL. I'm not going to refinish it.

I love the looks of it. It looks like it came from a battlefield somewhere in the far east or Libya. Good work!

You can adjust the front sight with a pair of pliers, if I'm not mistaken. If it's like my FAL, then all you do is turn it and it moves up or down. Then again, mine isn't a Imbel and is a argentine pattern, so they could be different...

Dude, nice rifle. I really want to build one of these myself, but I have to buy a truck this summer. [grin][sad]

Very nice.

That looks to be a vanilla Type-3 Imbel lower, but that's an StG 58 upper in the top picture, with the classic Stg 58 flash hider, metal handguard, and folding bipod.

Now you need to get it all one color. Any one color.

I have a combo front sight tool and gas wrench you're welcome to borrow.

Well since I got the parts kit for free, that was a good chunk of it.