Making beef jerky without dehydrator?

I've been reading up a bunch of things and id like to try and make jerky, I've never done this before and would like to know your methods on doing this safely. I've read a few ways of doing it in the oven but I'm curious what the safest way to do it avoiding bacteria etc.. And making it with the longest shelf life. I plan on starting a garden and learning to can as well come this spring when it warms up outside. I'm looking to start supplementing our weekly food with the goal to become supermarket independent and depending on my own gardening/ hunting to survive.

I always did it by putting the oven on low (200). I trim as much fat off it as I can. Cut thin strips and season it. I make a batch about every couple of weeks. never had a problem.

I always did it by putting the oven on low (200). I trim as much fat off it as I can. Cut thin strips and season it. I make a batch about every couple of weeks. never had a problem.

does it with a window fan

Both methods work well. The ingredients that Alton Brown uses in that video can be found here.

Beef Jerky Recipe : Alton Brown : Recipes : Food Network

The red pepper flakes are a nice touch and Liquid smoke is a must.

Last edited by a moderator:
So just set the oven to 200 and leave the meat there with the oven door pegged open then let it go for 2-6 hours?

For the most part yes. Dehydrators can be had on Amazon for less than $60, it's a lot easier using one than using the oven.

For the most part yes. Dehydrators can be had on Amazon for less than $60, it's a lot easier using one than using the oven.

I've used both methods.
The danger with the oven (I suggest 180○ F) is if you go too long your jerkey is toast .
The dehydrator does provide a more consistent product.

...and they're multitaskers. There's a lot of stuff you can dry. (E.g. I slice zucchini on a mandolin and make zucchini chips, which I eat instead of nachos.)