"Lights Out" by David Crawford

I did search here about this book but couldn't locate any previous posts. If this is a dupe, Sorry!

I'm just getting into this book and find it to be really entertaining and authentic. You can do a google search for it. The first handful of chapters were initially posted up on the net and you can still find them if you look. The entire book, however, is quite thick.

The story revolves around an EMT event that kills all electronics (cars, phones, etc.) and the way Crawford lays this out has been really excellent. You get sucked in pretty quickly.

Anyone here read it yet?

Rome

i read it online. it was the first book i had read in years, and i couldnt put it down. bought it for my dad, and im going to buy it for myself to read again. its a fantastic book.

an electrical metallic tubing event? oh boy.

just kidding. i just finished the book about 2 days ago. excellent read. better than JWR's books for sure

Once I started reading it, I couldn't stop. I don't read a lot, but I couldn't put that book (errr...pdf) down.

And I think you meant EMP. Although if the EMTs of the world revolted, I suppose driving ourselves to the hospital would suck.

A great story and an easy read - hard to put down. I also picked up the PDF online.[wink]

It really makes you think. And, it makes you think about reality if the lights went out for a year or more.

Yup, it is a must read, and better than every book in its type so far (compared to others I've read or tried to read). The situations are actually plausible. The characters are more real, not some kind of prepper superhero that few could aspire to be, yet they figure out how to make do with the situation. And, it makes me ponder what I might do in similar situations.

I've read it about three times now. It is definitely the best book of this type that I have read. I'll probably end up starting it again soon. I just have one Vince Flynn novel in the queue.