Legal Shipping of Firearms & Ammo for Dummies 2016

CaseHardened

Banned
Legal Shipping of Firearms & Ammo for Dummies 2016

First of all I'm not a Lawyer. This is not Legal advice.

I welcome suggestions, and when I receive information that I feel advances the thread, I will update it as best I can. This advice is current as of January 2016.

And as this a Guide for Dummies, I will refrain from quoting laws and sub-chapters, lest both our heads explode.

Also, laws vary widely from State to State, even City to City. This Guide will address no local variations, but will focus exclusively on laws and regulations that affect all US Citizens.

This Guide applies to the Continental USA only.

I have investigated USPS and UPS. I've been told Fedex is similar to UPS, but have not verified this.

Note that shipping Firearms and Ammunition in the same box is never allowed.

I have gathered this information after combing many Web Sites, and speaking to fellow gun owners, collectors, FFL's, the USPS, UPS, and ATF. All were helpful, yet I received a great deal of information that was simply wrong. Gun Laws suck.

AMMUNITION:

Shipping Ammo to adults 21 or over who are legally able to own ammo is simple and inexpensive, if you know the tricks. Protect yourself: Get proof of age and a statement from them that they can legally own it.

USPS: No, never. The U S Postal Service will ship no ammo of any sort. No one can do it legally. Yet people do it all the time. Don't you do it.

UPS: UPS will ship common small arms cartridges, by Ground, and does not even charge a premium to do so ! You must have UPS come to you to pick it up, or you can drop it off at a real UPS Customer Center. That means no Mail Boxes Etc., no Staples, no Office Depot. And you must mark the box, clearly, ORM-D. You can print out a label from the UPS Web Site, or hand-mark the package per the guidelines: