• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Is an FA-10 form needed?

I have a customer trying to send a gun to a repair company. I’m the middle man sending it and receiving it. I have a store front FFL. The customer wants to pick it up. I assume I’d have to do a 4473, but do I need to do an FA-10 form?
Maybe this MA FFL thing isn’t your thing? Or is it a troll post

It's concerning that you don't know the answer. I'm not intending to be a jerk, but this seems fundamental...
Again we didn’t get much training on anything. And we just started. It would really help if someone could answer the question instead of bashing my post

Again we didn’t get much training on anything. And we just started. It would really help if someone could answer the question instead of bashing my post
Understood. I believe the answer is no but I am not a lawyer and wouldn't want to give you inaccurate advice. There are several FFL who could answer more definitively.

Irrespective of what the answer to this question is, you are operating in a hostile environment in the State of MA. You need to get solid legal/procedural advice in order to do so with minimal legal exposure. Your question suggests that this should be a priority. No one wants to get jammed up for avoidable mistakes.

I have a customer trying to send a gun to a repair company. I’m the middle man sending it and receiving it. I have a store front FFL. The customer wants to pick it up. I assume I’d have to do a 4473, but do I need to do an FA-10 form?
This goes in and out of your books as a repair.
No 4473 required.* No FA10s. Where i worked we also had a shipping log with a tracking number recorded.

* = if they replace the frame and the SN changes then obviously it's treated as a new firearm and then a 4473 or a full blown transfer must happen. This is obviously not normal, though.