Improving PPC score

I'm new to competition and really enjoy it. So far, I've shot in PPC. I used my M&P40c and my Glock 17. I notice that I'm the only one with a poly gun. I've seen others using heavy 6 inch revolvers and a lot of 1911's, some look like custom jobs. All full size with none less than 4 inch barrels. I did shoot better on the second try. Maybe it was the extra length of the Glock, maybe the experience, maybe both. Of course, now I have the bug and I want to keep trying to beat my last score. So, my next purchase will not be a 1911, but a visit to the optometrist and a pair of glasses.

Usually, I practice at 21 feet, but after PPC, I'm sending the targets all the way down to the end of the range (50ft). I'm getting much better groups with the Glock 17 than the S&W40. Surprisingly, I'm doing almost as well with the Glock 26 as the Glock 17.

1. Wouldn't it be best to compete with the gun you carry most? I can't imagine the other regulars at PPC with the 6 inch S&W revolvers are carrying those. They certainly will be more accurate than my stock Glock, but is that practical?

2. What should be the next step after PPC?

I think I'm going to keep shooting my Glocks in PPC as it better prepares me for real world use of the firearm, but I am tempted to add a 5" 1911 to the safe, just to add another 30-50 points to my score. I might try the next one with the G26.

You have to decide what is more important: a better score or more proficiency with your carry gun. Glocks are not exactly the best pistol for PPC. A 1911 with the right trigger and sights would be more appropriate if a high score is your goal.