I don't understand.

Derek, we get calls all the time. "Help, my 6-14 year old is out of control". Gimme a break, if they can't control 'em, they shouldn't have 'em. They just want someone else to do the parenting. And there are others that are afraid to touch their kids. My kids would come home from school and say stuff like if they got spanked, the teacher says it abuse and they should call the police. I told my kids, "Call the police all you want, they're my friends. Who they gonna believe, you or me!" My kids think it "sucks" because I'm a cop. "We can't get away with anything!"
My kids would never dream of being "out of control". There were times my son (he's 16 now) would try and run away from me. He'd go flying up the stairs and all's I had to do is grab one ankle, he'd come right back to me [wink]
Jon

The problem is that parents can't discipline their kids without fear of the law. Throughout my many years in public sevice, I've seen it.

I think a big part of the problem is that a lot of parents are so busy doing other "important" things, that they pretty much let the kids go until they start displaying control problems. The catch is that hte best authorities will tell you that by then it's pretty much too late. If you've got then under good control at age 5, you've already solved 98% of the problem. If not, then the next 15-20 year of your life are going to be one great big Charlie Foxtrot.

Ken

KMaurer said:
I think a big part of the problem is that a lot of parents are so busy doing other "important" things, that they pretty much let the kids go until they start displaying control problems. The catch is that hte best authorities will tell you that by then it's pretty much too late. If you've got then under good control at age 5, you've already solved 98% of the problem. If not, then the next 15-20 year of your life are going to be one great big Charlie Foxtrot.

Ken