Home Defence Drills

Since Reading that Tony is interested in a little more traffic in here I thought I'd share my wife and my home defence drill for the event of a home invasion. I'm far from a profesonal, and this is just stuff I've peiced together from reading, and just logic, so tips, and critiques woul be apriciated. And of course share your own drill for the same.

We train in the bedroom, since this is the most likely location where we'll be if there was an invasion. These are the steps.

#1: Secure Door
#2: turn on light
#3: get phone and take cover behind bed (it's between door and far wall)
#4: ready weapon, point at door from a crouched position (for cover) Finger OFF trigger!
#5:call 911
#6: wait.

I rent, so modifying my bedroom to make this a little more "bullet-proof" (if you'll excuse the bad pun) isn't likely. Ideally I'd want a lock on the door, and a hardline loacted by the place of cover.

The one thing I'm really anxious to hear about from you is the use of the light.

#1: it allows us to see what we're doing, and it will illuminate the "Bad Guy" if it comes to a shoot or not-shoot situation

but #2: it identifys the room as occupied (along with the sounds of the 911 call).

I don't want to shoot just a guy who wants to steal my sterio (that's a job for the Cops, not my gun) and I want the a**h*** to display some intent of wanting more than just some loot.

I would hate to be defending myself in court, and have the thug claim he thought the apartment was unnocupied and that I "jummped him".

of course breaking down a locked door shows intent VERY well...too bad.

So what do you think?

-Weer'd