• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Gun purchase help

I'm new to firearms and I need some help if anyone can assist me.
I only own 2 guns: A Glock 22 and a Remington 870.
I want to purchase a .22 handgun for practice shooting.
As of now, these are my criteria:
I want to spend between $200.-$300.
I understand that the Ruger MK models are pretty good, but I rather like the look and feel of the Walther P22; yet I've read that the P22s are so-so, picky with ammo. etc.
Therefore, does anyone know of a .22 in that price-range, with a similar look and feel of the Walther, but more reliable. If so, can you tell me any local dealers in eastern Mass that might carry such a model?
Or, should I put aside appearances and go with the Ruger, or are the Walthers not that bad, if anyone owns one?
Thank you so much for any assistance.
Regards,
Paul

I don't own either, my only .22 pistol is a revolver. So this is all unfounded opinion but another item you could consider is a .22 upper for your Glock. Also this forum is very informative on all subjects but for second opinions regarding anything .22 go to www.rimfirecentral.com I am positive, with a little digging, you can find some there who has already asked/answered any of your questions/concerns. Just my .02

Get the Ruger or some simiar. The best thing about a good .22 is it is very acurate and can help build your skills. And if you choose you can useit for competition.

The walther looks cool, but you can do better.

I second matt's advice. In that price range the Rugers can't be beat. The P22s are nice fun guns, but not for serious shooting.

I have a carbon fiber P22. Its one redeeming quality is that my 12 year-old daughter likes to shoot it. Other than that, it's a cheaply made, unreliable, hard-to-clean toy.