Great CMP timing

I submitted my paperwork via USPS on 12/22. I received a telephone call checking on a fact from the CMP on 12/27. (They wanted to know why my Harvard membership card did not have an expiration date. I told them that I was a life member and did not want an expiration date.) The M1 is in my hands today.

Astounding.

Yes, it was a Greek return. When the CMP folks contacted me they stated that it would be at least 3 months to get a non-Greek M1, that the
"regular" M1s were on backorder, I reconsidered. Considering that I am not looking for a collectible rifle (I want a shooter), and that all of these rifles go through the same arsenal refitting process, I elected to get the Greek return.

The stock is not in the best shape. Some dings, but no splits or cracks. The wood is very dark, and I am not good at judging why. The barrel and gas tube appear to be new, as is the front sight, recevier wear is about 85%. Overall, I am pleased.

I will post a photo soon.

I submitted my paperwork via USPS on 12/22. I received a telephone call checking on a fact from the CMP on 12/27. (They wanted to know why my Harvard membership card did not have an expiration date. I told them that I was a life member and did not want an expiration date.) The M1 is in my hands today.

Astounding.

lmao.....Good for you.....

The first I got from CMP took 11 days from my sending it in and the second was 8 days. They can be very quick !

Congrats !

worthless.gif

Nice rifle! Such a good feeling having a Garand, isn't it?

To be honest, I used to be a bit of a snob about the Garand, prefering SA M1As and ARs. I've got to say that, now that this is at my home, I have a great deal of affection for it. I think about that old Marine Corps recital: 'This is my rifle/There are many like it, but this is mine ...'

The rifle seems to convey solidity and practicality. It's a good feeling.