Garmin GPS

Buy a used Kyocera Duraforce Pro phone - the old one is fine. No need for a phone account for it.

Load up Locus and Osmand. And any other phone based mapping app that you'd like

You'd have to work hard to spend more than $150 on this. I've been running one as a motorcycle GPS for the last 2 years.

Ultra rugged Kyocera phones,GPS smartphones ..my guide

Locus

Both those links are pretty long, at this point but have excellent information buried in there. Locus has a steep but short learning curve. Best thing I did was take it on a trip as a passenger so I could figure it out without having to also not drive into solid objects. Once I was past that, I could use it on the bike.

No thanks only Garmin
If that’s the case then just keep what you have and buy a new set of maps for it. GPS technology and features have progressed almost exactly zero in the past decade. The only thing that’s “new” is now you can get them with built in Iridium communicators like the 66i or perhaps more what you’re looking for, the new Montana 700i.

Last edited:
I’m assuming you’re looking for an on road GPS. If so, you really can’t beat Waze and an iPhone.

If you’re looking for an outdoor model, there are quite a few other options.
I use the iPhone all the time but recently discovered in remote areas where cell service drops out I couldn't load new destinations even though GPS is fine. I had to scramble and pull out the old Garmin.

If that’s the case then just keep what you have and buy a new set of maps for it. GPS technology and features have progressed almost exactly zero in the past decade. The only thing that’s “new” is now you can get them with built in Iridium communicators like the 66i or perhaps more what you’re looking for, the new Montana 700i.
The problem is the unit I have has become unreliable and I'm only looking for a Garmin I have the phone.

The problem is the unit I have has become unreliable and I'm only looking for a Garmin I have the phone.