First Over Under Shotgun?

I recently started shooting skeet and I LOVE it! I'm using a remington 870 but I want to buy an over under. I don't have thousands to spend...any suggestions on a good shotgun at a reasonable price?

Look for CZ shotguns are made by Huglu and they are in amazing value. Not all Turkish made shotguns are high quality, but Huglu definitely is.

Or if you are real tight on money, get a used Ruger, Browning, Beretta to start. New ones depending on where you find it may be over $1,500.

Dana

Unfortunately a "good" over under costs thousands, a truly magnificent one will cost much more.

See if you can try out a Citori, Ruger, or Beretta, you might just find that some things are worth stretching for.

My first Skeet gun was a Mossberg Silver Reserve Sporting edition. After a couple of months with that I was itching for a Browning.

You do get what you pay for.

IMHO If you buy a winchester, Ruger, Bertta or other high quality lightly used gun you will get years of use out of it and thousands of shells and it will keep its value . I Just bought a Used Winchester Grand European for trap after talking to some people I was also looking at Lambers for $800 bucks which are a ok gun but they are only going to last so long if you are shooting alot and they don't hold value. So for another 300 bucks I was into a much better gun that I can turn around and sell for what I paid for it. Check out
www.tombstonetrading.com The owner Dave is a good guy and a big time clayshooter. They usually have a good selection of o/u's

Last edited:
I'm not a fan of any of the Huglu (Turkish)shotguns. It's because of their service/repair issues and just try to find parts or someone to accomplish any repairs in the future. Same goes for the Italian models, frankly. While Beretta is an excellent shotgun, my buddy had his stock faill last trap season and it took literally months for Beretta to service it under the warrantee.