Failure to Fire: S&W 686

O/U

Hi folks,

Some of you might remember that I recently purchased my very first handgun a few months ago: a used Smith 686-6 .357 revolver.

Unfortunately, I haven't had much time to shoot it. I did manage to put 100 rounds through it last week. They were UMC .38 specials purchased at Dick's.

In 100 rounds, I had two failure to fires. The rounds came around again and went off just fine. 2 out of 100 seems like way more FTF's than I want in a field/home defense gun.

From what I've heard, Smith takes care of their customers so I'm not really worried on that front. I would like to know, however, if this is a simple adjustment that I can make so I don't have to deal with sending the gun out.

Keep in mind that I'm a handgun newbie. I have done a basic field stripping of this gun (removed grip and cylinder for cleaning) but that's about it.

Thanks!

Tom

Tom,

Remove the grips and check the screw at the bottom front of the grip frame. This should be screwed all the way in. Many times, people will loosen this screw in an effort to lighten the trigger pull. It also lightens the hammer blow to the primers.

First thing to check is the strain screw for the main spring. If it is the least bit loose it can cause the misfires you mention. Next would be the ammo. If the primers are high, they will seat on the first strike and ignite on the second.

After that there are many variables that need to be taken into account. Try a box of Winchester and see how it works after you check the strain screw. Then report back.

If you are anywhere near Cape Cod, I would be glad to look at it.

Wow, guys. That screw was backed waaaay out. I've tightened it all the way into the frame now. The trigger doesn't feel any heavier to me. I'll let you know if this solved my problem once I get some more trigger time.

Is this a legitimate way to lighten trigger pull?

Thanks for the help!

Tom

Thanks for the help!

Tom