Crushed By The Mental Breakdown

Amputee Marksman

NES Member
In 2020-2021 I started shooting 22 pistol bullseye again after a 20+ years hiatus. It was very enjoyable to shoot the 2020-2021 season in the Greater Boston Pistol League. I started out slow but improved all season and ended the year on what i considered a roll.

I came back this year and quickly picked up and was shooting far better than last year. So far I have continued to hold that level however the last few weeks I have struggled with the mental aspects of the sport. In other words I have hit the wall but not physically. Last year was nothing. My scores really didn't matter (only the top 4 scores count in a match) and I had no mental investment. This year my scores count, they make a difference. My competitive spirit is at full throttle and I want to win.

Tonight was a big match against MIT who is currently in 1st. place. To beat them and we would be tied at 5-2 each. I let the mental aspects of the whole situation get the better of me and I did not shoot up to my potential. Don't get me wrong, I did not have a complete meltdown and I shot well enough for my score to count but I expected better of myself. My mojo never got going and I never got in the zone.

It has been a long time since I have felt the drive to win in a team shooting sport and after tonight's performance it reminds more than ever about the mental aspects of competitive shooting.

Any competitive sport or activity has this - you get several first fun years with your skill progressing, until you hit a flat plateau that may be very prolonged- with no visible improvements. It gets frustrating at times, as you do not feel anymore how it gets any better.