Crimping 9mm??

I hope to start reloading soon and will be starting out with 9mm.
I have heard some people say that crimping helps the accuracy of their 9mm. Others have said it is not needed since it uses a taper crimp.
When I buy my die set is it worth getting the factory crimp dies?
Thanks.

I'm no expert but 9mm luger uses a taper crimp (as opposed to a roll crimp used on many revolver cartridges). No idea about accurracy pluses but I do it. Too much crimp is bad and can cause excessive pressures.

The 9mm luger cartridge headspaces on the case mouth. Never roll crimp a 9mm as it will effect function. Taper crimping is ok.

Excessive crimp in any cartridge will increase pressures and you should be aware of this if you are loading near the top end of a particular load as it may place the load in an unsafe pressure range for the firearm being used.

A Dillon taper crimp die or a Lee Factory Crimp die will work just fine.

Don't forget to gage your ammo.

1. Take heed of the note above about headspacing on straightwall auto cartridges; use only a taper crimp and not so much as to eliminate the distinct shoulder at the mouth of the case.

2. As for how crimping affects accuracy:

A) As everyone knows, the primary contributor to cartridge accuracy is consistency of velocity.

B) Chamber pressure relates more or less directly to bullet velocity.

C) As noted, the force required to start the bullet moving (and, thereby, increasing the combustion chamber volume) has some effect on early chamber pressure.

D) That force is the sum of bullet inertia plus natural clamping force of the case mouth itself (without any crimp) plus the additional clamping force of the crimp.

E) The inertia of all bullets of the same mass (weight) will be the same.

F) Particularly when shooting brass that has been reloaded a few times or mixed brass, the amount of natural mouth clamping force will vary widely.