• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Can anyone tell me about the Steyr AUG? Upsides? Downsides?

I've decided I want one. Why? Just because.

How reliable are they (very from what I can gather)? I know pre-ban mags exist but how plentiful and costly are they? Is it better to get one with the stock that accepts STANAG mags? Is there anything that can be done to make the trigger better? I'm in MA so I'd need the flash hider replaced with a muzzle brake. Do they accept AR15 muzzle brakes?

If I were to get one, I'd get the A3 version.

Thanks.

If you are looking at an actual Steyr, I'm pretty sure it will be pre-ban, so no need to do anything to it. If you're looking at a clone, then unless it has a bayonet lug, you don't have to worry about the F/H.

I've heard mixed reviews on the clones, but great reviews on the Steyr. I have no first hand experience with either. Zero Hour Arms had a couple of Steyrs when I was there last week.

Thanks,

Chris

Thanks Chris. Steyr is selling the AUG (A3 version) in this country again. So, I could get a new one.

Does the grip design on the AUG not qualify as a pistol grip?

Paul: I was confused (I had my head up my butt). I'm sure that the pistol grip does count, so having the flash suppressor on a new AUG would be a problem. Sorry for the bad info.

Thanks Chris. Steyr is selling the AUG (A3 version) in this country again. So, I could get a new one.

Does the grip design on the AUG not qualify as a pistol grip?