Bought a new Sig Mosquito Today

doc538

NES Member
Oh boy what an idiot :) Brand new Mosquito from a local dealer and what do I do ? I put it on my bench to clean and lube before shooting, start at the normal remove slide... 20 minutes later I had it completely disassembled. [shocked]
[/FONT]
Well I had read about some trigger problems and FTE problems so I figured I would check it out and maybe to some upgrades first.. Did I mention i am a copier/computer tech and not an Armory guy.. and this is my second semi auto , the other is back at the factory getting fixed [grin]

Thanks for it having so many problems that there where a ton of pictures and fixes I could download, So I did a few and reassembled it, now I am off to the range to see if it will fire correctly.

This is what it looked like after 20 minutes, not a picture of my actual gun, you can tell by the date

DSCN1206.jpg

Last edited:
If you are not a certified sig armorer, I would suggest you not to take the gun apart further than field stripping. It can get expensive to have sent back to be repaired because you didnt know what you were doing... It will cost you over 100.00 just to replace the screw holes if you overtighten/strip them on the grip panels.... Not to mention the fact it voids any un-written warranties....
Advice from a certified sig Armorer....
~Drew

Thanks for the advice Drew! If I was anybody else I would have listened to you, I am a true mechanic, I take things apart, see how they work, see if I can improve on them and then put them back to together. Also I had already stripped this gun before you replied. I realize I have voided my sig 1 year warranty, but what a wonderful time I had, It was worth it. I now have a very very smooth, even trigger at a poundage that is perfect for me. With it down I polished the heck out of all the trigger components and then moved on to the feed. Amazing what polishing and de-buring the mag and barrel can do for feed problems.