Beaten my a Colt single-action

So I gather up my S&W 686, my Sig 226 9mm, and drive down to the Mass Rifle plate shoot from Exeter. I'm new at this game but I never thought I'd be beaten by a much older man shooting a Colt single-action revolver in .45 Colt caliber. (yes, I stink, but still!) He had some kind of home-made speed loading tubes that held 6 shots - and he never missed a shot! His shooting was faster than you would believe once he was loaded up with 6. I timed him from shot 1 to shot 6 in under six seconds. It was the reloading that slowed him down. Still, he had one string of 25 targets shot in 68.5 seconds. I know, because I looked at the scoring sheet. I buggered up more than one stage worse than that with a modern gun. This guy with the single-action actually beat several other people too. I'll be going to the next shoot in May just to watch the single-action guy. Now I had better practice a little more with my Smith - and my Sig too!

For those who go to these shoots regularly, are there other shooters using single-action guns? It was very interesting.

Sydney

Sydney,

You did fine. Don't worry about comparing yourself to other shooters. The most important things are that you had a safe experience, enjoyed yourself, and learned a thing or two about another aspect of shooting.

Shooting steel competitively is not something you learn over night. It takes trigger time, practice, and dedication. Many of the guys you saw today have been shooting that game for over ten years - some over twenty! When I first started, I could not hit the broad side of barn with a hand gun!