Backpack = Concealed?

JRT

NES Member
I think I know the answer to this question but I figured I would ask and hopefully surprised. I'm going to do some hiking and camping along the Appalachian trail this week and I often toss my Alaskan in my backpack. I do not have a NH Non res permit. In the very unlikely scenario if I was stopped by a game warden or something is a gun in a backpack considered concealed? I know I could always OC it but it can get uncomfortable at times.

Can't answer your question. But you're not gonna do anything that would end up with your backpack getting searched by the Fuzz, right? So...

Can't answer your question. But you're not gonna do anything that would end up with your backpack getting searched by the Fuzz, right? So...

The plan is to drink a little bourbon at night but otherwise stay under the radar of the local PD. I should just get an NH license, I've been saying this for 20 years.

Hard to claim that inside a backpack would not count as "concealed about one's person". Stick with open carry, or unload it.

Hard to claim that inside a backpack would not count as "concealed about one's person". Stick with open carry, or unload it.

I could unload it, I think that's the plan. I only scare the shit out of myself at night.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

In your backpack that revolver is just a ****ing brick anyway wether its loaded or not. Just unload it and stuff it if you don't plan to open carry it.

I know I could always OC it but it can get uncomfortable at times.

It's been said a million times: Carrying a firearm is supposed to be comforting, not comfortable. [wink]

I have done a lot of hiking with an all steel Gov't 1911 so I know what you mean about it becoming cumbersome. For me, its not the weight that bugs me but the position of it on my hip where after really long all-day hikes it starts to dig in/ shift around/ contact the backpack, etc...