Assembling a 1911 - it's ON!

So several months after my "Can an idiot build a 1911?" thread, I've decided to find out the one way I know how: give it a try. I gave RemSport a call this morning, and I'll be driving down Thursday to pick up (or at least pay for) a slide, frame, and parts.

The theme of my build? Cowboys. Zombie Cowboys. Zombie Cowboys... From Space! If it looks futuristic, I'm doing it. Tactical rail, Serrated Top slide, the works. For example, I've got some Crimson Trace grips already on the way, mostly for that futuristic "WARNING: Laser!" sticker that comes with them.

Now I don't really know what I'm doing. I've owned a 1911, but I don't know anything about them, really. I don't know if I've gone and ordered a series 70 or 80 part kit, I don't know if I have all the tools I really need, and I don't know how long this will take. I don't know, well, you get the point. I'm a reasonably smart guy, and I have an engineering degree, but unfortunately, this degree isn't in firearm, mechanical, or any practical engineering discipline, so this could get interesting.

I intend to document the whole build, which hopefully will be on a compressed-schedule, with pictures, starting Thursday.

If there are any cat pictures in the build.................

Nice though man!!!! I am interested to see what a cowboy/zombie/space theme turns out to look like.... I see a red dot on this thing somewhere LOL :)

Good luck with your build, but remember 1911 are fitted together, not assembled like an AR. Take your time and learn not only how to fit the part, but how it's fitting effects other parts

Good luck with your build, but remember 1911 are fitted together, not assembled like an AR. Take your time and learn not only how to fit the part, but how it's fitting effects other parts