AR15 Rear sight help

I'm new to rifles and have been trying to read how to sight in my AR, But I'm confused.
I have a flat top upper. I bought a used carry handle with sight built in. All manuals I can find tell me to bring my sight to 8/3 mark, on elevation.
I don't have this mark.
My elevation knob is numbered 0 - 20.
How do I sight this in, and to fire at (for instance) 500 yards, what number would I bring my elevation to.
Please help the nieve

Nater,

It sounds like you have a 1 min or 1/2 min elevation knob. Can you find out which one it is?

how

How can I find out. It's numbered 0 - 20. 25 would be back to 0
Does that help? It sounds like it may be a National Match sight? Does that sound right?
Want me to post a pic?

Seems to be a NM sight with 1/2 min elevation adjustments.
What does that translate into. If I zero at 100 yards. How many clicks to 200....300...and so on?

It does sound like a NM 1/2 MOA sight. First off, is your rifle a carbine or an A4 (short or 20" barrel)? Also, look at the front sight post to see if it's flat or slanted.

Basically what you want to do is pick a spot on the right sight that you want to be your 200 yard zero. Make sure to leave a couple minutes of cushion. Then, adjust your front sight post to zero in.

I can give you normal come-ups for each yardage but you'll want to shoot and record what is exactly the right numbers for your rifle and the ammo you're going to use.

TonyD said:
Basically what you want to do is pick a spot on the right sight that you want to be your 200 yard zero. Make sure to leave a couple minutes of cushion. Then, adjust your front sight post to zero in.

Just to clairify what Tony said. Bottom out your rear sight. Then come up 4 or 6 clicks. Once you have done that zero the rifle and use the front site post to adjust your elevation.

Thanks

Thanks guys.
Front sight is normal square post.
16" Barrell