Airweight 642

I just purchased a 38 Special 642 Airweight for carrying, the belly sights are brutal I couldn't hit Moby Dick if he swam 5 feet in front of me.
Any suggestions, I know I'm a good shot with my other handguns but I just can't seem to get comfortable with this.

I just purchased a 38 Special 642 Airweight for carrying, the belly sights are brutal I couldn't hit Moby Dick if he swam 5 feet in front of me.
Any suggestions, I know I'm a good shot with my other handguns but I just can't seem to get comfortable with this.

I am not an expert, or even that good of a shot, but I have somewhat tamed my 642 to acceptable accuracy. First, I couldn't live with the trigger, maybe you can, but I had a trigger job done and got the pull down to a smooth 5lbs. The only way I could put anything on paper (after a lot of experimenting) was to use a super tight "death-grip", held as high as possible, on the gun. That's what worked for me. I don't know if it would work for everyone. Good luck! Of course it's easy to push or pull your shots with improper trigger pull as well.

Practice Practice Practice
Dry Fire the crap out of it - ease's the trigger pull
I did not have to have any work done on mine.

The snub revolver is its own animal, that's for sure. Like the others said, get a trigger job, and also look at getting different grips (the trade off might be less concealability). Also look into training if you have the time and money: www.snubtraining.com and like Dirtypacman says: practice, practice, practice...

you can get a trigger job. Or, you can dry fire it A LOT. This noticeably smooths out the trigger. The day I got my 642, I might have dry fired for 2 hours straight. My fingers were killing me, but I could feel the trigger get better.

What kind of grip are you using? You should have your weak hand thumb wrapped over the strong hand. It's much more controllable that way. See Jerry Miculek's j-frame grip
http://www.shootingusa.com/PRO_TIPS/MICULEK2/miculek2.html