• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Acceptable Powder charge ranges

Let me start by saying i am talking about reloading 12 ga shells.

I'm new at reloading, in fact I haven't loaded any shells yet. I have the equipment, books (read quite a bit but not everything yet) and all the supplies except the shot, which i am working on.

So today I decided to de-prime all the shells i have gathered and check what my powder bushing was actually throwing. I have a MEC 600 jr. with a 33 bushing and using red dot through a connected powder baffle.

while checking the thrown powder on the scale (I did 60 test throws) I noticed i was getting different weights, not much, but different. So my question is what is a reasonable thrown range when reloading?

For the recipe I will be loading it lists red dot with 19.5 charge. The data list the MEC 33 bushing with red dot as throwing 19.9 which is .4 over what the charge calls for. which is why i decided to check the actual powder thrown.

the range i got with the 60 samples was 18.8 to 19.6 with the majority between 19.0 and 19.4 see the actual numbers below. Is this range acceptable? I know you are not supposed to go over the stated recipe, so would the occasional .1 overage (with a 19.6 change) be a big deal? I guess my concern comes from the range i am getting and the fact that being new at this i don't have a feel for how much a .1 difference really is. Some of the differences i am sure are from me and not sliding the charge bar at the same rate/speed/smoothness.

Here are the numbers and thanks for the help guys.

18.8 x 2
19.0 x 11
19.2 x 25
19.4 x 13
19.6 x 9

Your powder bushing should be able to hold +/- .1 grains. However, it's a percentage that the accuracy holds to, and that also varies by powder. Some meter better than others.