• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

.223 Case Length Question

Patriot

NES Member
I figured I would start reloading .223 last night and setting up my sizing die (Dillon Carbide Die)
I ran through a few rounds (mil brass) and checked them with my case gauge. The go-no go
test is that there is a step in the gauge that the base(?) is supposed to fall in between in
order that it is properly sized (I think). Anyway the base of the case sits a skosh beyond
the face of the case gauge (see picture) and my question is, am I doing this correct. I
repositioned the die as best as I could a number of times to try to move the position and had
no luck. Any comments or help would be appreciated.

CaseGuage_a.jpg

I'm pretty new to this myself but I believe you have a resizing issue. Your example will not head space correctly. You would detect an over length case that needed to be trimmed at the other end of the gauge.

Like I said. I'm new and that is what my reading has lead me to believe. Wait for the more experienced folk to chime in.

I recently purchased the Hornady headspace measurment kit.
http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=479704
Instead of giving a go/ no-go reading, you can take an actual measurment.

You can also measure brass fired in your gun and set the shoulder back just enough to chamber in your rifle. This will help to minimize brass stretching upon firing and should increase your case life.

Steve

I'm pretty new to this myself but I believe you have a resizing issue. Your example will not head space correctly. You would detect an over length case that needed to be trimmed at the other end of the gauge.

Like I said. I'm new and that is what my reading has lead me to believe. Wait for the more experienced folk to chime in.

Interestingly enough the case, after sizing, on the bullet end, seems to be dead on as there