.22 Tactical Rifle - target shooting

RK1717

NES Member
Hello,

I was wondering about an inexpensive .22 tactical Rifle that I could use for just target shooting that wouldn't cost me $$$ to operate.
I went to one website and they actually showed me cost comparison of a .22LR vs a .223 and the ammunition cost difference was huge. here is the website: http://www.colt22rimfire.com/

Basically I was looking to shell out about $300-500 for a rifle that used an inexpensive ammunition so a day of shooting would cost me an arm and a leg.

Other than the Colt website and their rifles does anyone have any ideas or other suggestions for me? I'm new to shooting and firearms, that is why I am asking such a "bland beginner" question.

-RK

ya I bought a sig 522, grabbed as many black dog clips as the dealer had(4 total) two plus years and shot over 10,000+ rds. through it and "What a gun". I'm thinking of buying another so when I go out with a friend we don't have to share. Bought 4 more of those black dog clips w/a reloader actually bought two, they are 26 rounders and work great and screwed together for easy cleaning. looks cool and feels solid. Put a vortex dot sight on and pistol grip in front after installing the 3-4" picatinney rails I was good to go. Ammo is all cheap at wally world and others. I can't tell you how fun it is to shoot and Can't believe how accurate it is also. fun, fun, fun.
Tex

S&W M&P 15-22 or a Ruger 10-22 and trick it out yourself. The M&P 15-22 simulates the AR the best, the 10-22 is cheaper to buy at first but may cost more in the long run.

Last edited:
Thanks, I'll definitely check out the M&P 15-22. I'd really like to pick one up used if the price is right.
Tex, I will keep my eye on the sig too. It looks nice.