• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

1911 for USPSA. 9mm or 45 ?

I am looking for a 1911 for USPSA. I love the 45, and the Major factor is a plus, but because of cost considerations, I would like to stay with 9mm.
My question is, how do the 9mm 1911 guns handle, compared to the 45 ? I love the accuracy I get from the 45.
Will a 9mm for example S&W have the same 1911 feel, or is it more a bastardized version of the 45 1911 for whimps ?
I presume a 9mm 1911 with the 10 round magazine would be considered a production class.

Also, in USPSA does 1911 start cocked and locked or fully decocked ?

Thank You
Rob

As long as you stay away from .40 you should be fine!

Sorry, I don't have anything constructive to add, I'm a fan of both the .45 and 9mm and of the 1911 heh.

-chris

I have no personal experience here, but watching a shooting show, the host's first impressions of a 9mm 1911 were that it was like cheating it shot so well with so little recoil. He loved it.

Major scoring is always a benefit. 2 extra round occasionally helps.

1911s start cocked and locked and 9mm with 10 rounds is single stack legal, but not production legal.

If you want to have fun, shoot 9mm. It is a very pleasant gun to shoot. If you want to do well, shoot major. 45 or better yet 40

1911s start cocked and locked and 9mm with 10 rounds is single stack legal, but not production legal.

If you want to have fun, shoot 9mm. It is a very pleasant gun to shoot. If you want to do well, shoot major. 45 or better yet 40
Thank you, that clears it up. Going through the role books, I realized that the 9mm would still be single stack.

I have always thought that shooting major loads (45) would be a scoring advantage over a minor nine. Now I am not so sure. The extra two rounds and reduced recoil/muzzle flip seem to be leveling the playing field.