12 Gauge Mossberg 500. Will it kick like a mule?

Hello folks, I just purchased a Mossberg 500 combo with different barrels for different purposes at my local dick's. I'm loving it. Look forward to trying it. Will I get kicked down to the ground? I mean i've heard boogie man stories about shotguns breaking shoulders or sending people on their butt. That it'll rattle your soul and has brought the likes of grown men to tears. But was wondering if I can handle the beast lol. I'm 225 and 6 feet tall. half fat, half on the way to not being fat :). fairly strong. Not that it matters. I've studied how to hold it when firing but of course it's my first time so the first few will need adjusting.

How bad is the punch on one? Will wearing a jacket help absorb the punch? I assume it would. Any tips for the first time shotgun shooter. I've shot small rifles and large pistols before. Thanks for any help.

it's not bad, its not like you're shooting a .50

Get a slip on recoil pad if you're leery of it, load in a slug and see what she's got

I have one. It thumps, but it's not unpleasant. Technique is a big part enjoying a day of recoil-therapy. Snuggle up tight, left foot a little forward with your weight a little forward. Do some reading on stance for shotgunning. Wear more than a t-shirt your first day out.

A lot depends on the load. A 3” magnum slug is pretty stout, but crappy #9 target loads are a piece of cake. One of the first guns I shot was a 590a1 loaded with slugs. It was fun, but it took a little experience to help me understand shotguns weren’t always like that.

How bad is the punch on one? Will wearing a jacket help absorb the punch? I assume it would. Any tips for the first time shotgun shooter. I've shot small rifles and large pistols before. Thanks for any help.

What sort of load are you planning to shoot? Start out with basic target loads on the trap field and you'll be fine, even after putting a whole box through it.