Zeroing

I have a question. A noob question. Seeing I just got my first AR, I am trying my best to get the thing on zero. However, I have seen numerous way of doing this. I was wondering how to go about doing this. Should I use my laser bore sight or should I go about zeroing another way? Unfortunately, I have no experience with the AR style of sights, so I would need a really detailed way of doing this.
I know I may get flamed for the question, but I don't really care. I would much rather take the crap and get the correct answer than to struggle and be shooting ten feet off the paper!
Thanks guys!

the army uses a 300m battlesight zero that is done at 25m. The advantage is that it is easy to do since pretty much everybody has a 25m range. You will shoot on the standard 25m zeroing targets for M4 or M16, which you can find online. The disadvantage is that your point of impact will be much higher than your point of aim at 50-200m.

Alternatively, you could do the 50m/200m improved battlesight zero (http://grburnett.us/guns/ImprovedBattlesightZero.pdf) which involves you having to screw with the sights for a bit. But the end result is that your point of impact will be much closer to your point of aim at all practical distances.

These are the two zeroing distances I am familiar with. I started out with the 25/300 zero when I was shooting with the carrying handle, but then changed to the 50/200 when I got my optic and BUIS. There is no need to use a laser boresight. Just set your rear sight to mechanical zero (bottom out elevation, center the windage). The circular base of the front sight post should be flush with the front sight shelf. that will get you on paper.

Last edited:
Several questions come to mind. What kind of AR and what type sights do you have? Is it a rifle or carbine? (this really does not matter that much) What kind of sights? Are they the standard iron sights? Are you using a scope?