Waiting on my Stag Upper. Anything I should uprgrade prior to assembly?

This is my first AR and I don't need to hear the "shoudl have bought a Colt, LMT, etc instead of Stag."

I got the group buy on complete Stag uppers from Pete @ Legal Transfers. Here is the link for what it comes with http://ar15sa.fatcow.com/store/page2.html

Its the 2nd item down, below the lower parts kit. I am still trying to find a lower. Is it worth doing gas blocks, free float conversions, rails, etc? I would like to do a sight of some type, not sure which one yet. I just don't want to put it together and then find out I should have done some upgrades prior to assy. I haven't got it yet, but hope to in a few weeks. Now the wait is up to 18-20 weeks, when I ordered it was only 6-8 weeks estimated.

This isn't just a range gun. I need it to be reliable if personal protection would be needed and we all know the zombies are coming!! I am thinking of a skeleton stock just because I like them.

I'm still a newb in the AR world and I almost ordered the same kit. I think that it's a good way to start. I think many here will stay Stag make an excellent product. As for the accessories you mention, many say free float is the way to go. I haven't gotten that far yet, so I cannot comment. But I think you are on the right track. What I like best about the AR is you can try something and if you don't like it, swap it with something else.

ps. I have the ACE skeleton stock and I like it alot.

Extractor spring and buffer. The stock spring is a four coil when it should be a five coil, and the buffer is blue when it should be black.

-DM-

Get magpul followers for any of your magazines if your shooting anything heavier than 55gr. since Stags dont have the m4 feedramps.

As I have stated in many threads, get the gas key properly staked. Many FTF/FTE problems can be traced to the gas keys coming loose and thus causing the action to not cycle properly.