• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Vacation In NH - Some Questions.

So I was born and raised in NH (specifically the towns of Belmont and Canterbury in Belknap County), but was never introduced to firearms until I moved to FL for college. I am going to be visiting NH for Thanksgiving and wanted to just make sure my understanding of NH firearms law is current.

(I am now a resident of FL and I have my CWP/CWL, which is recognized/reciprocated by NH.)

These are things i currently believe to be true about NHs Firearm Laws. feel free to correct me.

Open Carry is legal without a permit

Concealed Carry (for me) is legal with my FL resident permit

You cannot concealed carry in a car without a CWP/CWL

You cannot open carry in/on school property

You can concealed carry on school property with a CWP/CWL

The only place restricted by the STATE from concealed carrying is a courthouse, but obviously all federally restricted places are still off limits, such as post offices, and any other federal buildings.

I believe this is the most updated statute on firearms law regarding pistols and such.

--UPDATE--

I re-read 159:4 Carrying Without License and now see it only specifies carrying a LOADED pistol in a vehicle, or concealed.

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xii/159/159-mrg.htm

I wouldn't anticipate any problems based on your understanding of the law. Schools and Federal buildings are an issue due to Federal law, I just avoid them entirely.

You're basically correct.

Open carry allowed anywhere but federal buildings, courtrooms, and schools.

Anytime you are in a car you are "concealed", so loaded in a car requires a concealed permit.
Unloaded in a car is fine (no mag inserted).

You don't ask about them, but just because it's weird... No loaded long gun in a vehicle. Doesn't have to be locked up or anything, but not loaded.