Total SKS rookie needs cleaning tips...

Hello all,

I recently cleaned most of the cosmo off my new SKS this week. I could not, however, clean inside the barrel/bore because I didn't have anything to get in there with. So here is what I need to know as I plan to do some shopping tommorrow:

1. What equipment do you reccomend I buy to clean the barrel/bore?

2. What solvents/liquids do you think I should buy for the barrel/bore not only to clean but for general maintenance and to keep the rifle in good shape?

3. What oil or solution do you reccomend to keep the rifle well lubed?

4. Keep in mind I am very new to rifles and guns in general so this may seem like a stupid question. What parts of the rifle require some level of lubrication to function properly and decrease wear and tear?

Any help appreciated!

Scully

If you haven't already checked, there may be a cleaning kit in your buttstock - assuming it's all there, use the tools along with the cleaning rod (under the barrel) to clean the bore. It should suffice.
SKS%20butt%20stock%20clean%20kit.jpg

If your SKS didn't come with the rod and kit, the SKS kits are fairly plentiful and easy to find online for less than $10. Even if you don't plan on using one, it's cool to have anyhow. http://htownimports.com/SKS PARTS.html Check your local store for a .30 cal rifle cleaning kit - usually will come with a segmented rod, muzzle protector, patches and a brush.