Thinking about getting into skeet: Shotgun suggestions?

1919FAN

NES Member
Hi folks:

I'm new to the sport and clueless. Can someone give me some advice on shotguns?

870 ... enough said :)

What advice are you looking for... the above is all you need to get started.

A few quick thoughts: If you simply want to have fun and bust clays, any 12 or 20ga shotgun will be great. However, if you want to get into skeet as a sport(leagues), you will definitely want an over/under 12 or 20ga.

As for length you can go from a 28" field length barrel to 32" trap barrel. Weight is inversely related to how well the gun swings. Chokes vary from modified to improved cylinder to cylinder. You can use different chokes in each barrel to give better shot pattern.

O/Us are more expensive and iirc, mossberg makes one starting at around $600. You can find very nice ruger red labels on the used market for slightly more. Like anything, the more you spend, the nicer the gun will be fit and finish-wise.

Tell us your budget and goals and we can help more.

870 ... enough said :)

What advice are you looking for... the above is all you need to get started.

I generally don't recommend pump guns to people shooting skeet for the first time. It makes the doubles that much harder when you're already trying to learn something brand new.

I generally don't recommend pump guns to people shooting skeet for the first time. It makes the doubles that much harder when you're already trying to learn something brand new.

Yeah but for $300 bucks you can't go wrong. He obviously does not have a shotgun and if your going to purchase one (then maybe never get into the sport) its a small investment for a shotgun with multiple uses. Of course an O/U for $600 is going to be ideal but he could always spend that type of dough in the future when he may actually want to invest in it.

Its like telling a guy getting into IDPA or USPSA he should go out and spend $1000-$1500 on gear when he can start for 1/2 the cost.