Suggestions: ALICE and MOLLE Systems

1903Collector

NES Member
Forgive me if this has been covered here before, if it has point me in the right direction. I am starting to put stuff together and thinking of packs. Looking for opinions from people who have used the ALICE and MOLLE systems as I have no experience with either of them. Appreciate any input and sources etc.

Thanks,
Walter

Read my post #9 Here I talk about packs, what I have, and why. ALICE packs are great. They have a ton of storage, a nice sturdy frame, and are widely available for short money. MOLLE is the new attachment standard, therefore, you will find that most external accessories are made to fit that platform. I feel the design of the newer packs give you the advantage of organizing things much better, but it all comes down to personal preference.

The MOLLE pack is horrible, mostly due to the frame. It absolutely will break at some point. I went through 4 frames in one year in the Marines, and I was in artillery. We never humped our packs, just stuck them in the truck.

ALICE, on the other hand, that's what we used in bootcamp. Those things are effin' durable. The external metal frame and double stitched webbing survive years of the harshest abuse that recruits, and drill instructors, can put them through. Not extremely comfortable for extended wear, but they can definitely take a beating.

If you can find one, the new ILBE packs that are in service now with the Marines are EXTREMELY comfortable, and pretty durable too. It's pretty much a civilian pack with digital cammie fabric. Only issue I had with that was the 200 straps that connected to nothing and seemed to serve no function. Duct tape fixes that, though.

I have no MOLLE experience but place me in the "I hate humping ALICE" camp. I toted one around for a number of years in the service. Mostly I used a large with the frame but in Basic Training and AIT (Infantry) we used mediums with no frames (1982).