Stripped lower.

I'm a Mass resident with proper mass LTC. A friend in NH has a srtipped lower to sell which I'd like to buy, private sale. Is this legal?
When the build is complete, I'd register it in Mass.
Can a NH dealer sell a Mass resident a stripped lower?

Thanks, Mark

AFIK, you just go through a FFL to do the transfer from NH to MA (for your friend's lower). As far as buying a stripped lower in NH as a MA resident, I don't think there would be any issue.

AFIK, you just go through a FFL to do the transfer from NH to MA (for your friend's lower). As far as buying a stripped lower in NH as a MA resident, I don't think there would be any issue.

It gets sadder. A stripped lower is an "other" on the 4473, and like handguns "other" can't be transferred to residents of other states. You'll have to bring your friend to an MA ffl and get them to transfer it for you.

- - - Updated - - -

Thanks. It somehow "felt" strange to me.

It saddens me to even have to discuss this as Americans.

It is a very sad thing that a chunk of metal should be subject to such onerous regulations.

Thanks. It somehow "felt" strange to me.

It saddens me to even have to discuss this as Americans.

Fed law for cross state line purchases. In state it all depends on the state. Such as if you were a NH resident, you could buy anything your friend has (also a NH resident) without worry. Might be worth looking at the NH resident to NH resident gun buying/selling 'laws'... Compare it with what's in MA and you'll either laugh, or cry.

I'm a Mass resident with proper mass LTC. A friend in NH has a srtipped lower to sell which I'd like to buy, private sale. Is this legal?
When the build is complete, I'd register it in Mass.
Can a NH dealer sell a Mass resident a stripped lower?

Thanks, Mark